52 Book Challenge/ Books #1-4

I am doing the Read 52 Books in 52 Weeks challenge. I have been a voracious reader since I discovered the Little House series in 2nd grade. They were my “hook books.”

As an adult I still read quite a bit. But lately I’ve noticed that Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and mindless internet surfing have replaced some of my reading time. So has television. So I decided to challenge myself to reading a book a week for 2012.  This way I can pick up all those books I’ve been wanting to read for a long time, but, with all my previously mentioned tweeting and pinning, haven’t tackled.

So far I am ahead of schedule. I’ve been book-gorging every available minute and it’s been heavenly! Why didn’t I ever consider doing this before now?

I intended to post one a week, but now I’ll post four, since January’s nearly over. Here we go:

 

 

#1  A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith. I adored this book about girl living in the tenements of Brooklyn in the early part of the 20th century. Her family was poor, but they were taught the values of reading and putting aside money for saving. My husband was born in Brooklyn, so this story was extra fun for me to discuss with him.

 

 

#2 Deceptions by Rebecca Frayn. Mysteries are my favorite genre. A pre-teen boy disappears one day after school, without a trace. Narrated by the live-in boyfriend of the boy’s mother, I found this book to be a bit of a slow read. The voice of the narrator was left-brained and analytical without much emotion. I had a difficult time getting excited about the story. But that’s just me. Maybe you’ll love it.

 

 

#3 The Killer’s Wife by Bill Floyd. A great thriller! A young bride discovers that her husband is a serial killer, and the story unfolds with twists and turns. This was a yummy page-turner.

 

 

#4 Still Missing by Chevy Stevens. Another can’t-put-down thriller. This book chronicles a woman’s abduction, eventual escape, and attempt to get her life back. A really, really good read.

 

Yes, you can see that I’ve been stuck in the mystery/thriller section of the library. But no fears. I am branching out. Just wait.

 

Leave a Reply

