My New Year’s Resolution #3

New Year Resolution # 3:

To take the Read 52 Books in 52 Weeks Challenge. Go to the link and sign up if you want to join me.

I am a voracious reader, but I’ve never actually kept track of how many books I read a year. There are my required reading books for my Spiritual Formation program, my Chocolate Pie Book Club monthly pick, and then all the others that I choose to read just because. 

I am the first to admit that I waste time watching more tv at night than I probably should, and I mindlessly web-surf when I’m bored. I’m hoping that joining this challenge will hold me accountable to put down the tv remote some evenings, and pick up a juicy novel. I’ve always loved a good challenge!

Here are a few Must-Reads for 2012 that are on my list:

~A Million Miles in a Thousand Years by Donald Miller. I bought this for my teenage son at the recommendation of my spiritual director. It has sat in his bedroom for 15 months, along with other unread books I have purchased for him. (The boy doesn’t read unless it’s required for school, much to my heartache.) So now his mommy will read it. I hope to learn from Donald Miller’s writings about how he turned his life into a great story. Then I can share what I learned with my son. Or maybe entice him to read it. Or threaten to read it out loud to him in a fake French accent. Whatever works.

~The Shack by William P. Young. I started this book once, and quickly put it down. I watch enough Nancy Grace that I felt I didn’t want to read about a child abduction and murder. But I’ve had many-a-friend tell me to “keep reading.” The rest of the story is about finding God in the midst of pain. Let’s see if I can actually finish past the first chapter this year. Stay tuned.

~A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith.  I’ve been wanting to read this book for forever, and I finally checked it out of the library. It’s about a young girl in the beginning of the 20th century who grows up in the Brooklyn slums.

~The Twilight Series by Stephenie Meyer. I read the first in the series, and now I need to complete the trilogy. It’s among my daughter’s favorite series. I want to read it because she loves them and wants me to. This is the year I’ll finish!

I plan on blogging a quickie review once a week of the 52 books that I will read this year. I’m so motivated I can hardly stand it!

Leave a Reply

